During the last three years, after choosing to stop the international team riders at the end of 2017, Nicolas Commagnac dedicated himself in 2018 to the development of a first wakesurf club in St Germain au Mont d'Or, then following the craze, he opens in 2020 a second base in the center of Lyon, in front of the Confluence Museum.

Not being able to be on all fronts, he puts production on standby from 2018 to 2020. Nevertheless, in 2019, he develops skim prototypes in airex in collaboration with Unamas. About twenty boards are produced in 2020. No longer living in Indonesia, he abandons the production in Bali, his ethic of social and environmental solidarity spirit holding him to heart. A spirit of solidarity that places the human, the economy and nature at the center of his concerns. He therefore completely rethinks the codes of manufacturing to start his next production in France.

Bali

"Hey buddy do you ride in France ?!

- Yeah!

"So take mine ! and let's roll the track !

I didn't think there were still good guys on this earth, this guy who happily lent me his bike on a cross-country course (KFx250) is an Italian expatriate in Bali with his own workshop. My very first sketches became material under the hands of this shaper. So the story of Mantap was born around a bike story...

Nicolas Commagnac was born in France, in the south west, land of foie gras, surfing and great wine. Passionate, he was introduced to many sports from a young age, the first Frenchman to do a backflip in mountainboard (skate-cross) in 2000. He then pursued his quest for board sports, snowboarding in winter, surfing in summer and off-season motorcycling / biking, no competitions but fun.

Later he learned wakeboarding, this feeling of sliding motivated him to pass his instructor diploma with UCPA Bombanne and, Laurent Delacroix who also introduced him to wakesurfing: his first ride on a wave behind a boat in 2005.

300+ Boards and 7 Open Countries

The following year he starts his first wakeboard school in the Landes with a Correct Craft 1976, bought open engine for a few hundred euros acquired in Paris. Fixes the engine, renovates the boat and teaches all summer in the 40, to introduce wakesurfing to a few initiates with the Salomon noseless 5.3 board, much more efficient and avant-garde than Hyperlite Landlock or Broadcast at that time, by his opinion.

On January 1, 2012, after spending five chaotic years helping his parents develop a fitness center and spa, (bp agff) he decided to take a total break and take a one-way trip to Bali for new horizons.

Bali is the island of surfing, they also call it "Island of Gods". The idea came at the end of 2013 to have the first 2 wakesurf surfstyle models, the Bowl in 4.5 and the Padang in 4.9, polyester wood batten and carbon kevlar reinforcement, shapped by an Italian met on a motocross course in Bali, who had his own surf workshop. The first tests were done in Thailand with Gille Becker, on several spots, and the boards worked! The following summer in Biscarrosse, tests with riders and the "yellow hut" in Maguide, I sell both.

Innovation and Quality to offer you the best

2015, 12 boards planned, I organize a tour in France and Switzerland, with my camper and the boards on board, I meet many clubs, but also riders and individuals. Many connections, time spent on the water, which allows me to consider 2016.

The year of the real start, creation of a team rider, 7 riders of different nationalities, 85 boards produced, a new model in 4.7, full epoxy, a tour in Australia at the beginning of the year, opening of the market on Japan and Russia, then Hong Kong end of the year.

During this year several competitions, the team participates, and make podiums with all the blows, beautiful reward, I appreciate besides enormously my team with a super spirit. A tour is organized in partnership with Moomba Supra France during May on all the part of the East and centre of France, 3400km, a lot of test, people test the wave and the boards, that match.

I then continued on the European circuit, Switzerland Germany Austria England, the boards are all gone.

2017, the year starts with a stock of 300 boards, high objective but confident on the evolution. Many present on the main boat shows, Geneva, Paris and Dusseldorf, big communication on wakesurfing by the manufacturers, 2nd edition Moomba Mantap Tour with a final in contest format. A particularly intense edition full of good moments.

The team rider raps almost all the podiums of the European tour, great success after these two years of creation of the team, which will not be repeated for 2018.

The tour ends and the stock is empty, the objective is fulfilled: to develop and offer the sport to the smallest lakes with great meetings and landscapes.

2018, a kind of achievement, the 3 collections are close to perfection, the Softop in entry level with this new coating to ride safely without ruining yourself with its punchy color (world premiere), the Proserie and the new ultra efficient shape glazed with Innegra fiber, the Hero and the Padang declined in 4.5 and its full carbon foil case. Then, the opening of the Club in Lyon! Come and meet me and share a moment on the water behind our Supra SC, the only one in France!

2018 2020 Break of the founder, 3 years to develop 2 clubs on Lyon is not a small matter, concentrated on his projects, he makes a stand-by of the brand, to come back stronger. 2021 all the manufacture is concentrated in France, Biarritz / Anglet for the surfs, at home for the skims, he shapes them himself. The 2021 collection is the result of all these years, and he preaches the made in France which he had in heart. Go and meet him at his club in Biscarrosse www.biscawakesurf.com , you will be able to test the complete 2022 quiver.

Mantap, Follow the Future & Coming soon under your feet

hastag: #mantapwakesurf #followthefuture #comingsoonunderyourfeet

TEAM RIDERS

SURFERS 2018

  • Chulie aka Seafox / Bali / Mixtape 5.9
  • Mathis aka Wanker / Mentawaï / Darkterror 5.9
  • Liam aka Nanas / Bali / Mixtape 5.5 / TurboCrypt 5.8
  • Matthieu aka Cangga / Reunion Island / Darkterror 5.8

PRO RIDERS 2017

  • Maximilian Kawlath / Germany / Nautical G23
  • Fanny Clavien / Switzerland / Moomba Helix
  • Svetik Mishanova / Russia / Club

AMATEUR RIDERS 2017

  • Irena Rohrer / Austria / Axis T22
  • Sam Perez Candela / France / Malibu Wakesetter
  • Hadrien Brassoud / France / Etoile filante 1976
  • Laura Clavien / Switzerland / Moomba Helix
  • Sebastien Jourdant / France / Mastercraft cx
  • Nadek Kosheleva / Russia / Nautical
  • Keita Arakawa / Japan

SURFERS 2017

  • Liam Bousseau aka Nanas/ Bali / Darkterror 5.8 & Mixtape 5.7
  • Mathieu aka Cangga / Reunion Island / Darkterror 5.8

PRO/AMATEUR RIDERS 2016

RIDERS PRO

  • Svetik Mishanova / Russia
  • Mick Sharpe / England
  • Fanny Clavien / Switzerland

AMATEUR RIDERS

  • Maximilian Kawlath / Germany
  • Isama Yamauchi / Japan
  • Laura Clavien / Switzerland
  • Gael Blavier / Switzerland
  • Hadrien Brassoud / France

SURFERS 2016

  • Mathieu aka Cangga / Reunion Island / Darkterror 5.8

RIDERS 2015

  • Hadrien Brassoud / Annecy : 1st place ama king of the lake

PODIUM

MANTAP PODIUM 2017

  • Japan Iwsa: 1st man
  • Japan Iwsa: 1st woman
  • Budapest Fise: 1st outlaw woman / 2nd oulaw man / 3rd amateur man
  • Surf the lake: 1st & 2nd place woman outlaw / 1st outlaw man / 3rd woman amateur
  • Zurich CWSA: 2nd outlaw man / 2nd outlaw woman / 3rd amateur woman

MANTAP PODIUM 2016

  • Gva: 1st 2nd 3rd place amateur
  • Gva: 1st place woman outlaw
  • Surf the lake: 1st 2nd place amateur men
  • Surf the lake: 1st place outlaw woman
  • Surf the lake: 3rd place amateur woman

Durant ces trois dernières années, après avoir choisi d’arrêter la team riders internationale fin 2017, Nicolas Commagnac s’est consacré en 2018 au développement d’un premier club de wakesurf à St Germain au Mont d’Or, puis suite à l’engouement suscité, il ouvre en 2020 une seconde base dans le centre de Lyon, face au Musée de Confluence.

Ne pouvant être sur tous les fronts, il met en standby la production de 2018 à 2020. Néanmoins, il élabore en 2019 des prototypes skim en airex en collaboration avec Unamas. Une vingtaine de planche sont produites en 2020. Ne vivant plus en Indonésie, il abandonne la production à Bali, son éthique d’esprit de solidarité sociale et environnementale lui tenant à cœur. Un esprit solidaire qui place l’humain, l’économie et la nature au centre de ses préoccupations. Il repense donc entièrement les codes de la fabrication pour entamer sa prochaine production en France.

Bali

« Hey buddy do you ride in France ?!

– Yeah !

« So take mine ! and let’s roll the track !

Je ne pensais pas qu’il y avait encore des types bien sur cette terre, ce mec qui m’a joyeusement prêté sa moto sur un terrain de cross (KFx250) est un Italien expatrié à Bali avec son propre atelier. Mes tous premiers croquis sont devenus matière sous les mains de ce shaper. Comme quoi l’histoire de Mantap est née autour d’une histoire de bécane…

Nicolas Commagnac est né en France, au sud-ouest, pays du foie gras, du surf et du grand vin. Passionné, il a été introduit à de nombreux sports depuis son jeune âge, le premier français à rentrer un backflip en mountainboard (skate-cross) en 2000. Puis poursuit sa quête pour les sports de glisse, le snowboard l’hiver, l’été surf et hors saison moto / vélo, pas de compétitions que du fun.

Plus tard il a appris le wakeboard, cette sensation de glisse l’a motivé à passer son diplôme d’instructeur avec l’UCPA Bombanne et, Laurent Delacroix qui l’a également présenté au wakesurf: son premier tour sur une vague derrière un bateau en 2005.

+ de 300 Planches et 7 Pays ouverts

L’année suivante il commence sa première école de wakeboard dans les Landes avec un Correct Craft 1976, acheté moteur ouvert pour quelques centaines d’euros acquit sur Paris. Fixe le moteur, rénove le bateau et enseigne tout l’été dans le 40, pour introduire le wakesurf à quelques initiés avec la planche Salomon noseless 5.3, beaucoup plus efficace et avant-gardiste que Hyperlite Landlock ou Broadcast à cette époque, par son opinion.

Le 1er janvier 2012, après avoir passé cinq années chaotiques à aider ses parents à développer un centre de remise en forme et spa, (bp agff) il a décidé de faire une pause totale et de prendre un aller simple à Bali pour de nouveaux horizons.

Bali est l’isle du Surf, ils l’appellent aussi « Island of Gods » Beaucoup de shaper ont un haut savoir-faire. L’idée met donc venue fin 2013 à faire shapper les 2 premiers modèles wakesurf surfstyle, la Bowl en 4.5 et la Padang en 4.9, polyester latte en bois et renfort carbon kevlar, par un Italien rencontré sur un terrain de moto-cross à Bali, qui avait son propre atelier de surf. Les premiers essais ce sont effectués en Thaîlande avec Gille Becker, sur plusieurs spots, et les planches marchent ! L’été suivant au tour de Biscarrosse, des essais avec des riders et la « cabane jaune » à Maguide, je vends les 2.

Innovation et Qualité pour vous offrir le meilleur

2015, 12 planches de prévues, j’organise une tournée en France et Suisse, avec mon camping-car et les planches à bords, je côtoie nombres de clubs, mais aussi riders et particuliers. Beaucoup de connexions, du temps passé sur l’eau, qui me permet d’envisager 2016.

L’année du vrai départ, création d’un team rider, 7 riders de différentes nationalités, 85 planches de produites, un nouveau modèle en 4.7, full epoxy, un tour en Australie début d’année, ouverture du marché sur le Japon et Russie, puis Hong Kong fin d’année.

Durant cette année plusieurs compétitions, la team y participe, et font des podiums à tous les coups, belle récompense, j’apprécie d’ailleurs énormément ma team avec un super spirit. Un tournée est organisée en partenariat avec Moomba Supra France courant Mai sur toute la partie Est et centre de la France, 3400km, beaucoup d’essai, les gens test la vague et les planches, ça match.

J’ai continué par la suite sur le circuit Européen, Suisse Allemagne Autriche Angleterre, les planches sont toutes parties.

2017, l’année démarre avec un stock de 300 planches, objectif élevé mais confiant sur l’évolution. Beaucoup présent sur les principaux salons du nautisme, Genève, Paris et Dusseldorf, grosse communication sur le wakesurf par les constructeurs, 2eme édition Moomba Mantap Tour avec une finale en format contest. Une édition particulièrement intense et remplit de bons moments.

La team rider rafle quasi tous les podiums du tour européen, grand succès après ces deux années de création de la team, qui ne sera pas rééditer pour 2018.

La tournée se termine et le stock est vide, l’objectif est rempli : développer et proposer le sport jusqu’au plus petits lacs avec des rencontres et paysages formidables.

2018, une sorte d’aboutissement, les 3 collections frisent la perfection, la Softop en entrée de gamme avec ce revêtement inédit pour rider en sécurité sans se ruiner avec ses couleur punchy (premiére mondiale), la Proserie et le nouveau shape ultra efficace glacée de fibre Innegra, la Hero et la Padang déclinée en 4.5 et son boitier foil tout carbone. Puis, l’ouverture du Club sur Lyon ! Venez me rencontrer et partager un moment sur l’eau derrière notre Supra SC, le seul en France !

2018 2020 Break du fondateur, 3 ans a développer 2 clubs sur Lyon n’est pas une si mince affaire, concentré sur ses projets, il fait un stand-by de la marque, pour revenir plus fort. 2021 toute la fabrication est concentré en France, Biarritz / Anglet pour les surfs, à la maison pour les skims, il les shape lui même. La collection 2021 est l’aboutissement de toutes ces années, et il prêche le made in France ce qu’il lui portait à coeur. Allez le rencontrer à son club à Confluence Lyon, vous pourrez ainsi tester le quiver 2021 complet.

Mantap, Follow the Future & Coming soon under your feet

hastag: #mantapwakesurf #followthefuture #comingsoonunderyourfeet

TEAM RIDERS

SURFERS 2018

  • Chulie aka Seafox / Bali / Mixtape 5.9
  • Mathis aka Wanker / Mentawaï / Darkterror 5.9
  • Liam aka Nanas / Bali / Mixtape 5.5 / TurboCrypt 5.8
  • Matthieu aka Cangga / ile de la Réunion / Darkterror 5.8

RIDERS PRO 2017

  • Maximilian Kawlath / Allemagne / Nautique G23
  • Fanny Clavien / Suisse / Moomba Helix
  • Svetik Mishanova / Russie / Club

RIDERS AMATEUR 2017

  • Irena Rohrer / Autriche / Axis T22
  • Sam Perez Candela / France / Malibu Wakesetter
  • Hadrien Brassoud / France / Etoile filante 1976
  • Laura Clavien / Suisse / Moomba Helix
  • Sebastien Jourdant / France / Mastercraft cx
  • Nadek Kosheleva / Russie / Nautique
  • Keita Arakawa / Japon

SURFERS 2017

  • Liam Bousseau aka Nanas/ Bali / Darkterror 5.8 & Mixtape 5.7
  • Mathieu aka Cangga / Ile de la Reunion / Darkterror 5.8

RIDERS PRO/AMATEURS 2016

RIDERS PRO

  • Svetik Mishanova / Russie
  • Mick Sharpe / Angleterre
  • Fanny Clavien / Suisse

RIDERS AMATEUR

  • Maximilian Kawlath / Allemagne
  • Isama Yamauchi / Japon
  • Laura Clavien / Suisse
  • Gael Blavier / Suisse
  • Hadrien Brassoud / France

SURFERS 2016

  • Mathieu aka Cangga / Ile de la Reunion / Darkterror 5.8

RIDERS 2015

  • Hadrien Brassoud / Annecy : 1st place ama king of the lake

PODIUM

PODIUM MANTAP 2017

  • Japon Iwsa: 1st man
  • Japon Iwsa: 1st woman
  • Budapest Fise: 1st outlaw woman / 2nd oulaw man / 3rd amateur man
  • Surf the lake: 1st & 2nd place woman outlaw / 1st outlaw man / 3rd woman amateur
  • Zurich CWSA: 2nd outlaw man / 2nd outlaw woman / 3rd amateur woman

PODIUM MANTAP 2016

  • Gva: 1st 2nd 3eme place amateur
  • Gva: 1st place woman outlaw
  • Surf the lake: 1st 2nd place amateur men
  • Surf the lake: 1st place outlaw woman
  • Surf the lake: 3eme place amateur woman